Norwegian Order of Freemasons - Den Norske Frimurerorden

Wednesday 28 December 2011

Norwegian Order of Freemasons - Den Norske Frimurerorden

Den Norske Frimurerorden is also known as the Grand Lodge of Norway or as the Norwegian Order of Freemasons. The first lodge (St. Olai Lodge, later known as St. Olaus to the white Leopard Lodge) was opened in 1749 and is still working. The Grand Lodge has followed the Swedish Rite since 1818, which requires its members to adhere to Christianity (rather to adhere we might say that they accept only Christian men). During the union of Sweden-Norway, the Swedish-Norwegian king was Grand Master of the Order. The sovereign Grand Lodge of Norway was consecrated in 1891. Today the Order has more then 20,000 members.

Headquartered in Oslo, the Order consists of 63 lodges of St. John (Iº – IIIº), 19 lodges of St. Andrew (IVº – VIº), three Steward lodges of 2. order (VII º), four Steward lodges of 1. order (VIIº – VIIIº), three Provincial lodges (VIIº – Xº), the Grand lodge (VIIº – XIIº) and one research lodge.

0 comentarii :

Post a Comment

Please comment on this Masonic news/information by using a proper language. All your comments are welcomed! Brotherly thanks!